[ Short Resume ]
Vitae with links to publications ]



Ted Selker is Director of Research on Accessible Voting at University of California Berkeley. Ted spent five years as Director of Considerate Systems research at Carnegie Mellon University Silicon Valley. He was also responsible for developing the campusí research mission, teaching HCI, Android product design, and research in voting with disabilities.

Ted spent ten years as an Associate Professor at the MIT Media Laboratory where he created the Context Aware Computing group, co-directed the Caltech/MIT Voting Technology Project, and directed the CI/DI kitchen of the future/design of the future project. Tedís work strives to demonstrate considerate technology, in which peopleís intentions are recognized and respected.

He is well known as a creator and tester of new scenarios for working with computing systems. His design practice includes consulting to help dozens of startups and large companies, speaking engagements, and innovation workshops.

His successes at targeted product creation and enhancement led to his role of IBM Fellow and director of User Systems Ergonomics Research at IBM. He has also served as a consulting professor at Stanford University, taught at Hampshire College, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and Brown University. He worked at Xerox PARC and Atari Research Labs.

Ted's innovation has been responsible for profitable and award winning products, ranging from notebook computers to operating systems. For example, his design of the TrackPoint in-keyboard pointing device is used in many notebook computers. His visualization and visual interface work has made impacts in the performance of the PowerPC, usability in OS/2, ThinkPad setup, Google maps, etc. His adaptive help system has been the basis of products. Tedís work has resulted in numerous awards, patents, and papers, and has often been featured in the press. Ted was given the American Association for People with Disabilities Thomas Paine Award for his work on voting technology, and was co-recipient of the Computer Science Policy Leader Award for Scientific American 50.